Tuesday 27 March, 2018

Fremantle Port Authority receive four awards including top honours at IPAA WA’s 33rd W.S. Lonnie Awards

Members of the Institute of Public Administration Australia WA (IPAA WA) and agencies from across the WA public sector celebrated excellence in annual reporting at the Institute’s 33rd annual W.S. Lonnie Awards presentation at the Pan Pacific Perth.

IPAA WA President Mr Colin Murphy PSM welcomed guests including the Governor of Western Australia and Patron of IPAA WA, Her Excellency the Honourable Kerry Sanderson AC, and Secretary to the Premier and Member for Perth Mr John Carey MLA, who was representing the IPAA WA Co Vice-Patron and Premier of WA, the Hon. Mark McGowan MLA.

In his welcome, Mr Murphy highlighted the important role these Awards play in promoting excellence in, and improving the standard of accountability in annual reporting. He acknowledged the great work and contribution of the annual reporting teams from WA’s diverse range of public sector agencies, both small and large.

Dr Jim Rhoads, Judge on the W.S. Lonnie Awards judging panel then provided an overview of the judging process, and key observations. “This year the best reports demonstrate significant improvements in the way in which they report on performance, risk management and governance. The digital format has by and large been mastered, and so too the integration of charts, graphs and illustrations with the narrative reporting. It is the provision of clear information that aligns reporting with strategy and KPIs that stands out. One particular area of reporting where the judges have expressed reservations in the past has seen considerable improvement in some agencies. It is the reporting on complaints handling” Dr Rhoads said.

Fremantle Port Authority was the big winner on the day, taking out four awards this year, including the Gold Award for Category 4 (Government Trading Enterprises), the PSC Award for Good Governance, the Margaret Nadebaum Trophy and the ultimate award, the W.S. Lonnie Memorial Trophy and shield.

The judging panel commended Fremantle Ports, commenting that their report had a strong performance section, one of the best risk management sections and a detailed complaints handling section. They also praised Fremantle Ports for their use of graphs and charts throughout.

The Department of Transport was also successful on the day, taking home three awards including The joint award led by the Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety for Occupational Safety, Health and Injury Management, the Bronze Award for Category 3 (Agencies with over 1000 FTEs), and the Allan Skinner Trophy.

This years’ Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand Chief Financial Officer of the Year Award went to Jay Peckitt from the Department of Education. Jay was praised for his significant contribution to significantly improving the financial management, budget strategy and resource allocation of the organisation.

The primary vehicle for accountability in the Public Sector has been and always will be the way public sector agencies report their performance to Parliament and the people of Western Australia.  The Awards were established in honour of Mr. William Scott Lonnie MC CBE MVO, recognised for his long and distinguished career in the State public service, culminating in his final post as Under Secretary, Premier’s Department during the premiership of Sir Charles Court.

Those awarded the top accolades for Annual Reporting were:

The W.S. Lonnie Memorial Trophy
Fremantle Port Authority

The Margaret Nadebaum Trophy
Fremantle Port Authority

Margaret McAleer Special Commendation
Commissioner for Children and Young People

The Allan Skinner Trophy
Department of Transport

For further media enquiries and photographs, please contact or call 9360 1400.

Click here to view all winners, photographs and judges’ comments.

Click here to read the history of the W.S. Lonnie Awards.