29 June 2018

The Institute of Public Administration Australia WA (IPAA WA) celebrated individual and organisational excellence at its seventh annual Achievement Awards presentation ceremony on Friday 29th June 2018 at the Hyatt Regency Perth. StatePlus, one of Australia’s leading providers of financial planning services, were Principal Sponsor of the Awards this year, and were joined by other leading organisations, sponsoring various awards. The Achievement Awards is the only awards system in Western Australia to recognise both individual and organisational achievements across all three tiers of government, the not-for-profit and tertiary education sectors.

IPAA WA President and Co-Chair of the Awards judging panel Mr Colin Murphy PSM hosted the Awards, and he welcomed guests including the new IPAA WA Patron, the Honourable Kim Beazley AC, Governor of Western Australia. Mr Murphy also welcomed Ms Amber-Jade Sanderson MLA and the Honourable Michael Mischin MLC, who were representing IPAA WA Vice Patrons.

Mr Murphy commented on the high standard of nominations that were received once again this year, which made the judging process very difficult. “This reflects the excellent work being done in the sector”, he said.

IPAA WA Patron and Governor of Western Australia, the Honourable Kim Beazley AC, then provided the opening remarks in which he highlighted the importance of sound administration in good government.  

In an Achievement Awards first, the award for Best Practice in Collaboration between Government and Non-Government Organisations was split into a gold, silver and bronze winners. “We received a large number of nominations once again this year in this category, and the judges were particularly impressed by the quality of nominations. The judges believed that more than one project deserved recognition”, Mr Murphy said.

Highlighting the quality of nominations that were received for the Leader of the Year Working within a Division, Team or Organisation award, in another Achievement Awards first, two winners were announced. “The judges commented on the quality of nominations that they assessed in this category; they could not separate two nominations”, Mr Murphy said.

A special IPAA National Fellowship was presented by Mr Murphy in his capacity as IPAA National Councillor. The National Fellowship was presented to Ms Susan Hunt PSM, long-time CEO of the Perth Zoo and now Chief Executive Officer of Lotterywest and Healthway. Mr Murphy highlighted the significance of this award, “The Institute of Public Administration Australia Fellow is the highest national award bestowed by the Institute. Those achieving Fellowship status have made significant contributions to public administration and the activities of the Institute. There are a limited number of IPAA Fellow accolades presented per annum and thus it is a prestigious title”.

The remaining awards were presented, culminating in the final award of the afternoon - the IPAA WA Patron’s Award, the highest accolade in public administration in WA. IPAA WA Patron, the Honourable Kim Beazley AC, presented Mr Eric Lumsden PSM FIPAA, Chair of Commissioners, City of Perth, with the 2018 IPAA WA Patron’s Award, for his significant contribution to the State and the sector in a career spanning more than 50 years. Eric has always upheld and promoted public service values by providing unbiased and comprehensive advice to decision makers. He believes in leading by example and has always seen his roles as “ones that must contribute to the community one serves”, and throughout his career, Eric has always maintained that the “public interest” must prevail at all times.

The 2018 Achievement Awards featured a variety of winners from across WA. A special mention to the Department of Communities, who picked up two Organisational Awards, and had two winners in the Individual Awards category.

Mr Murphy concluded proceedings for another year, “I again wish to congratulate all the winners of an Achievement Award this year. Your commitment to best practice in the WA public service is a positive accomplishment that deserves recognition. I also wish to acknowledge those individuals and organisations that were nominated but did not win an award today. I commend you for your efforts throughout the year and hope you nominate again for the 2019 Awards.”

The Achievement Awards offer fifteen categories of awards, ten open to individuals and five best practice awards for organisations. 

Congratulations to the following 2018 Achievement Award winners:


IPAA WA Patron’s Award
Eric Lumsden PSM FIPAA
Chair Commissioners, City of Perth

Murdoch University Award
Leader of the Year State or Federal Government
Nina Lyhne
Department of Transport

Leader of the Year Working in Local Government
Garry Hunt PSM
City of Joondalup

Leader of the Year Working within a Division / Team / Organisation (2 winners)
Tracey Gillett
Department of Communities

Andrew Sanders
Office of Emergency Management

Public Sector Commission Young Leader of the Year Award
Jay Peckitt
Department of Education

Human Resource Management Practitioner of the Year 
Tom Hastings
City of Gosnells

Information Technology Practitioner of the Year
Pat Scally
Department of Communities

Policy Practitioner of the Year
Michelle Andrews
Department of the Premier and Cabinet

Department of Finance Award
Finance Practitioner of the Year
Nick Sarandopoulos
Pilbara Ports Authority


Business News Award
Innovation in the Not-for-Profit Sector
Holyoake Institute
My Wellbeing Mate App

Award for Best Practice in Corporate Social Values
Department of Communities - Child Protection and Family Support
Kalgoorlie-Boulder Earlier Intervention and Family Support Service

Award for Best Practice in Collaboration Between Government and Non-Government Organisations (Gold, Silver and Bronze Winners in 2018)

City of Cockburn, Fremantle Football Club & Curtin University

Cockburn Aquatic and Recreation Centre (ARC)

Department of Communities

Assisted Rental Pathways Pilot

Optus Stadium Project Team

Optus Stadium

Award for Best Practice in Collaboration Across Government Agencies
Optus Stadium Project Team
Optus Stadium

Department of Health Award
Best Practice in Health and Wellbeing
Department of Fire and Emergency Services
DFES Mental Health First Aid