28 June 2013

WA Public Service Showcase Excellence

The Variety Youth Choir kicked off celebrations today in recognition of WA’s public service at the Second Annual Western Australia Institute of Public Administration (IPAA WA) Achievement Awards hosted at a luncheon at the Hyatt Regency Perth. 

The Awards are the only program in WA to recognise both individual and organisational excellence across all three tiers of government, the not-for-profit and academia sectors.

Institute President and Awards Co-Chair, Ms Sue McCarrey said the awards give valuable recognition to the public sector which is sometimes overlooked. 

“I would like to congratulate all those who were shortlisted and especially to the winners who demonstrated outstanding achievement across their organisations and various projects.”

“We had an overwhelming response to the two collaboration awards and a number of high calibre nominees. The outstanding projects submitted are also an indication of the successful collaboration between government and non government agencies to provide better outcomes for the community,” Ms McCarrey said.

The Achievement Awards offer seven categories for entry with a total of fourteen awards. Nine open to individuals and five best practice awards for organisations

Premier’s Representative, the Honourable Joe Francis, Minister for Emergency Services; Corrective Services; Veterans presented Western Australia’s Auditor General Colin Murphy, Office of the Auditor General the Institute Patron’s Award - the highest accolade in public administration in WA - awarded for significant contribution to the State and the sector.

Judges commented, “Mr Murphy’s career expands over 44 years in the public service and has been widely recognised as being instrumental in the establishment of new Departments. Throughout his career Colin has aimed for better practice and continuous improvement – and his current role as Auditor General is no different.” 

Congratulations to the following 2013 Achievement Award winners:

IPAA WA Patrons Award
Colin Murphy, Office of the Auditor General

Murdoch University Award Leader of the Year State or Federal Government 
Reece Waldock, Department of Transport

Public Sector Commission Award Young Leader of the Year 
Kaylene Gulich, Department of Treasury

Hyatt Regency Perth Award Leader of the Year Not-for-Profit Sector
Clive Elliott, Centrecare

Corruption and Crime Commission Award Leader of the Year Local Government
Ian Cowie, City of Gosnells

Hays Recruitment Award Human Resource Management Practitioner of the Year 
Joint Winner - Job Share
Diane Misic and Nicki Eastman, VenuesWest

Department of Finance Award Finance Practitioner of the Year 
Murray Smith, Landgate

Information Technology Practitioner of the Year
Morgan Strong, Western Australian Museum

Policy Practitioner of the Year
No winner announced

WA Business News Award Innovation in the Not-for-Profit Sector 
Richmond Fellowship of WA

Department of Health Award Best Practice in Health and Wellbeing 
Department of Mines and Petroleum

Award for Best Practice in Collaboration Across Government Agencies in the Same Jurisdiction 
Initiatives to Overcome Barriers to Obtaining a Driver’s Licence for People in Remote Areas
Department of Transport 

Department of Fisheries Award Best Practice in Collaboration Between Government and Non Government Organisations 

Guidelines for Aboriginal Participation in WA Civil Construction and Landscaping Industries
LandCorp and Civil Contractors Federation WA

Best Practice in Corporate Social Values 
No winner announced

For more information on the award winners please click here.

For photos from the day, please click here.

For further information please contact Gavin Lewis on 08 9221 1177.