Thursday 11 December, 2014

Information Commissioner Appointed Institute President

Western Australia’s Information Commissioner, Mr Sven Bluemmel, was elected to the position of IPAA WA President on 28th November 2014.

Mr Bluemmel was the IPAA WA secretary from 2012 and replaces outgoing President, Ms Sue McCarrey, who served on IPAA WA’s board for more than 10 years and was formerly the Deputy Director General of the Department of Transport until October this year.

Mr Bluemmel said he is honoured to be elected to the position and that he will continue to move the Institute in a positive direction.

“I look forward to building on the legacy left by our former President and to support the Institute in its key role of supporting the public sector’s professional development needs” Mr Bluemmel said.

Mr Bluemmel has previously held senior positions in the Public Sector Commission, the Department of the Premier and Cabinet and the Commonwealth Attorney-General’s Department. Sven also practised law in the private sector in Melbourne and Perth, where he was recognised in the national publication Legal Profiles as a leading lawyer in information and privacy law.

Sven has been a contributor to a number of Australian and international publications, particularly in the areas of information and technology law. He is an alumnus of Leadership Western Australia and actively participates in the community, including through his involvement with the Smith Family’s Learning for Life program and the
Advisory Committee of The Big Issue. Sven also holds a Bachelor of Laws with Honours and a Bachelor of Science, both from the Australian National University.

IPAA WA Chief Executive Officer, Mr Gavin Lewis said, “Mr Bluemmel’s experience in information and technology, law and the public sector will help to aid the growth of the Institute and provide valuable insight and direction into public administration and practice.”

IPAA WA Councillor and WA Auditor General, Mr Colin Murphy, was elected as Vice President and Ms Jo Harrison-Ward, Management Consultant at the Public Sector Commission, to the vacant position of Secretary. They join Vice President Dr Yvonne Haigh, from Murdoch University and Treasurer Alan Abraham, Chief Finance Officer at the Department of Lands, as the IPAA WA Council executive.

Find out more about IPAA WA's Council here.

For further media enquiries please contact Kylie Macqueen on 08 9360 1400.