Friday 28 March 2014

Water Corporation Sets New Benchmark in Agency Reporting

The Honourable Joe Francis MLA Minister for Emergency Services; Corrective Services; Small Business; Veterans kicked off the celebrations for the Institute of Public Administration Australia WA (IPAA WA) 29th Annual W.S. Lonnie Awards for excellence and accountability in annual reporting, at the Hyatt Regency Perth today.

The Awards presentation luncheon attracted CEOs, Directors General and Commissioners from across State government agencies and statutory bodies, all hoping to take out the prestigious W.S. Lonnie Memorial Trophy - awarded to the best annual report for the year.

The Water Corporation was the ultimate winner for the day, winning Gold award in the Government Trading Enterprises category and swept up the major awards, the Margaret Nadebaum Trophy, Margaret McAleer Special Commendation and the ultimate award, the W.S. Lonnie Memorial Trophy and shield.

Chair of the W.S. Lonnie Judging Committee, Professor Christopher Doepel PSM, said “The Water Corporation’s report overall, was a model of clarity, setting a new benchmark in agency reporting for Western Australia.”

“The chemistry was right this past year for the Water Corporation. The agency appears to have observed the best practice demonstrated in recent years by W.S. Lonnie Trophy winners and has taken in the judges’ comments.” Professor Doepel said.

Mr Karl Matacz from Synergy received the Chief Financial Officer of the Year Award, sponsored by the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia and a notable achievement was the Department of Fire and Emergency Services who received three specialists’ awards in Performance Reporting, Occupational Safety, Health and Injury Management and Transparency and Accountability and also took out the Gold award for their organisations’ category of more than 1,000 full time employees.

Deputy Director General Policy, Planning and Investment, Department of Transport and Institute President, Ms Sue McCarrey said the awards recognise and highlight excellence and improved accountability standards in annual reporting across the WA State Public Sector.

“This is a mammoth task as all State government annual reports from the 2012/13 financial year, published online by the Public Sector Commission reporting deadline, are automatically included in the judging process,” Ms McCarrey said.

“Since its inception in 1984, the Awards have been established as a prominent event for the state public sector. Receiving a W.S. Lonnie Award demonstrates an agencies’ commitment to transparency, authenticity and integrity when it comes to producing its annual report”.

The primary vehicle for accountability in the Public Sector has been and always will be the way public sector agencies report their performance.  The Awards were established in honour of Mr. William Scott Lonnie, recognised for his long and distinguished career in the State public service, culminating in his final post as Under Secretary, Premier’s Department during the premiership of Sir Charles Court.

Those awarded the W.S Lonnie major awards and trophies were:

The W.S. Lonnie Memorial Trophy

Awarded to the best annual report for the year.

WINNER: Water Corporation

Margaret McAleer Special Commendation

This award is presented at the discretion of the panel for an outstanding report that, in some respect, establishes a benchmark to which others should aspire.

WINNER: Water Corporation

The Allan Skinner Trophy

Awarded to the best annual report in the General Government Sector.

WINNER: WorkCover WA

The Margaret Nadebaum Trophy

Awarded to the best annual report in the Government Trading Enterprise Sector.

WINNER: Water Corporation

For further media enquiries and photographs, please contact Kylie Macqueen on 08 9221 1177.

Click here to view all winners, photographs and judges comments.

Click here to read the history of the W.S. Lonnie Awards.