24 June 2016

Excellence in the Public Service celebrated at 5th Annual Achievement Awards Ceremony

The Institute of Public Administration Australia WA (IPAA WA) celebrated individual and organisational excellence at its fifth annual Achievement Awards presentation ceremony on Friday 24th June 2016 at the Hyatt Regency Perth.

The Achievement Awards is the only awards system in Western Australia to recognise both individual and organisational achievements across all three tiers of government, the not-for-profit and tertiary education sectors.

IPAA WA President and Co-Chair of the Awards judging panel Mr Sven Bluemmel hosted the Awards. He welcomed the Attorney General and Minister for Commerce the Hon. Michael Mischin MLC, representing the Premier, and Deputy Leader of the Opposition and Shadow Minister for Health Mr Roger Cook MLA, representing the Leader of the Opposition. Having both of IPAA WA’s Vice-Patrons represented at the event was a clear recognition of the value of the work and achievements of the public sector in Western Australia.

Mr Bluemmel outlined the rigorous judging process involved once again this year due to the record number of nominations received, and praised the high calibre nature of all the nominations.

The formal part of the afternoon commenced with the presentation of awards for organisational achievement. “It was great to see so many nominations for the two collaboration awards once again this year. This is indicative of the ongoing, successful collaborations between government and non-government agencies across WA. These collaborations are vital in bringing improved services and better outcomes to the WA community”, Mr Bluemmel commented.

Following the presentations of the organisational awards, the individual awards continued to highlight the significant achievements of WA public sector employees.

Minister Mischin presented Ms Sharyn O’Neill, Director General Department of the Department of Education, with the highest accolade in public administration in WA, the IPAA WA Patron’s Award - awarded for significant contribution to the State and the sector.

Judges commented, “Ms O’Neill has made an outstanding contribution to the public sector in WA, and has led the Department of Education through an extensive reform agenda. Under Ms O’Neill’s leadership and strategic planning initiatives, public schools in WA have seen significant improvements in performance, operation and status. As Director General, Ms O’Neill has ensured public schooling has been placed on a firm foundation for the future.”

The 2016 Achievement Awards featured a variety of winners from across WA – of the 16 awards presented, 13 different organisations were represented. A special mention to the Department for Child Protection and Family Support, the Department of the Attorney General and South West Metropolitan Partnership Forum who each won two awards at this year’s presentation ceremony.

Mr Bluemmel concluded proceedings for another year, “I would like to congratulate all those who were shortlisted and especially to the winners who demonstrated outstanding achievement across their organisations and various projects, and I encourage you to nominate suitable individuals and organisations for the 2017 Achievement Awards.”

The Achievement Awards offer fifteen categories of awards, nine open to individuals and five best practice awards for organisations. 

Congratulations to the following 2016 Achievement Award winners:


IPAA WA Patrons Award
Sharyn O’Neill
Department of Education

Public Sector Commission Award
Young Leader of the Year
Petro Scafidas
Department of Mines and Petroleum

Leader of the Year Working within a Division / Team / Organisation
Malcolm Robb
Department of Water

Murdoch University Award
Leader of the Year State or Federal Government
Graeme Gammie
Department of the State Heritage Office

Hyatt Regency Perth Award
Leader of the Year Not-for-Profit Sector
Chris Hall

Corruption and Crime Commission Award
Leader of the Year Local Government
Joanne Trezona
Shire of Broomehill-Tambellup

Department of Finance Award
Finance Practitioner of the Year
Carolyn Gibbon
Department of Agriculture and Food, Western Australia

Department of Fisheries Award
Policy Practitioner of the Year
Ben Whitehouse
Department for Child Protection and Family Support

Information Technology Practitioner of the Year
Martin Jackson
Department of the Attorney General

Randstad Award
Human Resource Management Practitioner of the Year 
Damien Miles
Pilbara Ports Authority


Business News Award
Innovation in the Not-for-Profit Sector
South West Metropolitan Partnership Forum
South West Metropolitan Partnership Forum

Department of Health Award
Best Practice in Health and Wellbeing
Department of Fire and Emergency Services
The Peer Support Program - Prepare to Care

Award for Best Practice in Collaboration Across Government Agencies
Department of the Attorney General
Sunday Courts

Award for Best Practice in Collaboration Between Government and Non Government Organisations (Two Winners in 2016)

Disability Services Commission
Changing Places WA

South West Metropolitan Partnership Forum
South West Metropolitan Partnership Forum

Best Practice in Corporate Social Values
Department for Child Protection and Family Support
White Ribbon Workplace Accreditation

For more information on the award winners please click here.

For photos from the day, please click here.