Friday 27 March, 2015

Three Decades of Recognising Excellence and Accountability in Annual Reporting

The Institute of Public Administration Australia WA (IPAA WA) celebrated 30 years of W.S. Lonnie Awards this year, as the presentation ceremony proceedings were opened on Friday the 27th of March 2015, at the Hyatt Regency Perth by The Honourable Donna Faragher MLC, Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier; Minister for State Development; Science.

“The Lonnie Awards are a fantastic way for Public Sector agencies to be recognised for their commitment to transparency, authenticity and integrity when compiling their annual reports. It is great to see so many departments’ annual reports making the shortlist and being presented for judging. This year’s large spread of quality reports made the judging process tougher than ever” IPAA WA President Sven Bluemmel said.  

WorkCover WA was the big winner on the day taking home four awards in total, including the coveted W.S. Lonnie Memorial Trophy. “An exceptionally well structured report, including very helpful cross referencing throughout. It was an enjoyable user experience to read this report”, the judging panel concluded. 

The judges commended WorkCover WA for the quality of their report, commenting that “WorkCover WA have produced a very high standard report that is very readable and provides clarity to external stakeholders.”

Fremantle Port Authority and the Office of the Auditor General also received high accolades for their annual reports, taking home three awards each. Department of Transport’s Graeme Doyle received the Chief Financial Officer of the Year Award, sponsored by Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand.

The primary vehicle for accountability in the Public Sector has been and always will be the way public sector agencies report their performance to Parliament and the people of Western Australia.  The Awards were established in honour of Mr. William Scott Lonnie, recognised for his long and distinguished career in the State public service, culminating in his final post as Under Secretary, Premier’s Department during the premiership of Sir Charles Court.

Those awarded the top accolades for Annual Reporting were:

The W.S. Lonnie Memorial Trophy

Awarded to the best annual report for the year.

WINNER: WorkCover WA

Margaret McAleer Special Commendation

This award is presented at the discretion of the panel for an outstanding report that, in some respect, establishes a benchmark to which others should aspire.

WINNER: Office of the Auditor General

The Margaret Nadebaum Trophy

Awarded to the best annual report in the Government Trading Enterprise Sector.

WINNER: Fremantle Port Authority

The Allan Skinner Trophy

Awarded to the best annual report in the General Government Sector.

WINNER: Office of the Auditor General

To view all Award Winners please click here.