26 June 2015

Public Service Achievements Celebrated at IPAA WA Achievement Awards 

The Institute of Public Administration Australia WA (IPAA WA) celebrated individual and organisational excellence at their fourth annual Achievement Awards presentation ceremony on Friday 26th June 2015 at the Hyatt Regency Perth.

The Achievement Awards is the only presentation ceremony in WA to recognise both individual and organisational achievements across all three tiers of government, the not-for-profit and academia sectors.

IPAA WA President and Co-Chair of the Awards judging panel Mr Sven Bluemmel hosted the Awards, and in his opening remarks he expressed the rigorous judging process involved this year due to the number of high calibre nominations received.

Choir group A Cappella West then delivered an uplifting performance, before the formal part of the afternoon commenced.  A special mention to the Department of Transport as Alyssa Serafim and Graeme Doyle received the Public Sector Commission’s Young Leader of the Year and the Finance Practitioner of the Year awards respectively. The Department of Transport was also awarded Best Practice in Collaboration Across Government Agencies in the Same Jurisdiction for its work with the Department of Sport and Recreation and the City of Cockburn on the ‘Your Move – Cockburn’ project. 

“We received an overwhelming response to the two collaboration awards” Mr Bluemmel commented, “This is indicative of the successful collaborations between government and non government agencies in WA to provide better outcomes for the community,”

The Achievement Awards offer fifteen categories of awards, ten open to individuals and five best practice awards for organisations.  

Following the presentations of the organisational awards, the individual awards continued to highlight the great achievements of WA public sector employees.

Representative of the Premier and Member for Churchlands, Mr Sean L’Estrange MLA presented Ms Cheryl Gwilliam, Director General Department of the Attorney General, with the highest accolade in public administration in WA, the IPAA WA Patron’s Award - awarded for significant contribution to the State and the sector.

Judges commented, “Ms Gwilliam has made an outstanding contribution to the public sector in WA, leaving a positive legacy for the future generations. Her extensive experience in senior management positions throughout the public sector has enabled Cheryl to make significant contributions in the areas of management, employment, public sector efficiency, public administration, and organisational development and governance.”

Mr Bluemmel then wrapped up proceedings for another year, “I would like to congratulate all those who were shortlisted and especially to the winners who demonstrated outstanding achievement across their organisations and various projects, and I encourage you to nominate suitable individuals and organisations for the 2016 Achievement Awards.”

Congratulations to the following 2015 Achievement Award winners:


IPAA WA Patrons Award
Cheryl Gwilliam
Department of the Attorney General

Murdoch University Award
Leader of the Year State or Federal Government
Wayne Gregson
Department of Fire and Emergency Services

Corruption and Crime Commission Award
Leader of the Year Local Government
Dale Stewart
Shire of Denmark

Hyatt Regency Perth Award
Leader of the Year Not-for-Profit Sector
Craig Comrie
Youth Affairs Council of Western Australia

Public Sector Commission Award
Young Leader of the Year
Alyssa Serafim
Department of Transport

Leader of the Year Working within a Division / Team / Organisation
Roger Johnston
Pilbara Ports Authority

Department of Finance Award
Finance Practitioner of the Year
Graeme Doyle
Department of Transport

Department of Fisheries Award
Policy Practitioner of the Year
Tania Loosley-Smith
Housing Authority

Information Technology Practitioner of the Year
David Dans

Human Resource Management Practitioner of the Year 
Cliff Gillam
Department of Education


Business News Award
Innovation in the Not-for-Profit Sector
Brightwater Care Group
Culture, Communication & Relationships at Work

Department of Health Award
Best Practice in Health and Wellbeing
Chronic Disease Prevention Directorate
Healthy Workers Initiative

Award for Best Practice in Collaboration Across Government Agencies in the Same Jurisdiction
Department of Sport and Recreation; Department of Transport & City of Cockburn
Your Move - Cockburn

Award for Best Practice in Collaboration Between Government and Non Government Organisations
Department of Housing & The Royal Life Saving Society - WA Inc
Remote Community Focused Swimming Pool Program

Best Practice in Corporate Social Values
Pilbara Ports Authority
Mangrove Rehabilitation Program

For more information on the award winners please click here.

For photos from the day, please click here.

For further information please contact Gavin Lewis on 08 9360 1400.