Wednesday 27 November 2013

WA Auditor General Honoured in Canberra

WA Auditor General Colin Murphy has been honoured at the 2013 IPAA National Awards Ceremony in Canberra last week, as the only Western Australian to receive a National Fellowship of IPAA.

National Fellowship is the highest award that IPAA offers and in the last 30 years the Institute has awarded just 200 Fellowships.

Terry Moran AC, National President of the Institute of Public Administration Australia, said the awards celebrated individuals for their contribution to public administration.

“This group of talented, dedicated and highly professional public administrators have made an outstanding contribution to the public sector throughout the country,” said Mr Moran.

“As the professional association for the public sector, IPAA is very proud to acknowledge their achievements. It is particularly significant that these awards are peer-nominated and peer-judged so they reflect views and opinions that have been built up over many years of service," Mr Moran said.

Recipients of the 2013 IPAA National Fellow award are:

  • Dr Ian Watt AO (Australian Capital Territory)
  • Stephen Sedgwick AO (Australian Capital Territory)
  • Alison Turner (Australian Capital Territory) 
  • Jane Spring (New South Wales)
  • Michael Coutts-Trotter (New South Wales)
  • Peter Duncan AM (New South Wales)
  • Sandy Pitcher (South Australia)
  • Colin Murphy PSM (Western Australia)
  • Andrew Jackomos PSM (Victoria)
  • Andrew Tongue PSM (Victoria)
  • Dr Claire Noone (Victoria)

About Colin Murphy PSM

Colin Murphy’s career spans over 44 years in the public service and he has been widely recognised as being instrumental in the establishment of new Departments. Throughout his career Mr Murphy has aimed for better practice and continuous improvement.

Mr Murphy has extensive experience in finance and administration in state and Commonwealth government roles. He has held senior positions within the state government in the Departments of Justice, Treasury and Finance, Land Administration and the Building Management Authority. He has also worked for the Commonwealth Department of Finance in Perth and Washington DC and
as Business Manager for Murdoch University.

Mr Murphy is the current West Australian Auditor General and a member of the Australian Auditing and Assurance Standards Board. Mr Murphy also received the IPAA WA Patron's Award earlier this year.

For more information on IPAA Fellowship, click here.

For further media enquiries please contact Kylie Macqueen on 08 9221 1177.