IPAA WA Patron

IPAA WA's Patron is The Honourable Kim Beazley AC, Governor of Western Australia.

The Honourable Kim Beazley AC is the 33rd Governor of Western Australia.

Prior to being installed as Governor on the 1st May 2018, Mr Beazley had dedicated almost three decades to a career in Federal Parliament, representing the WA seats of Brand and Swan.

In 2009, Mr Beazley was awarded the Companion of the Order of Australia for service to the Parliament of Australia through contributions to the development of government policies in relation to defence and international relations, and as an advocate for Indigenous people, and to the community.

Early life & family
Mr Beazley was born in Perth, Western Australia. He completed a Bachelor of Arts and Master of Arts at the University of Western Australia. In 1973, he was awarded the Rhodes Scholarship for Western Australia and completed a Masters of Philosophy at Oxford University.

He has honorary doctorates from the University of Notre Dame (Western Australia) and Murdoch University.

Mr Beazley is married to Ms Susie Annus and has three daughters, Jessica, Hannah and Rachel.

Mr Beazley was elected to the Federal Parliament in 1980 and represented the electorates of Swan (1980-96) and Brand (1996-2007).

Mr Beazley was a Minister in the Hawke and Keating Labor Governments (1983-1996) holding, at various times, the portfolios of Defence, Finance, Transport and Communications, Employment Education and Training, Aviation, and Special Minister of State.

From 1995 to 1996, Mr Beazley was Deputy Prime Minister and Leader of the Australian Labor Party and Leader of the Opposition from 1996 to 2001, and 2005 to 2006. Mr Beazley served on parliamentary committees, including the Joint Intelligence Committee and the Joint Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade Committee.

Vice Patron

  • Hon Mark McGowan MLA, Premier of Western Australia
  • Hon. Mia Jane Davies MLA, Leader of the Opposition

History of IPAA WA Patron's

Traditionally, the Patron of IPAA WA is the Governor of Western Australia.

2014 - 2018 Her Excellency the Honourable Kerry Sanderson AC

2011 - 2014 His Excellency Malcolm McCusker AC CVO QC

2006 - 2011 His Excellency Dr Ken Michael AC

2000 - 2005 His Excellency Lieutenant General John Sanderson AC

1993 - 2000 Major General the Honourable Michael Jeffery AC AO (Mil) CVO MC (Retd)