Online registrations have now closed. Please contact for enquiries. 

The primary vehicle for accountability in the Public Sector has been and always will be the way agencies report their performance.

The W.S. Lonnie Awards recognise the importance of Annual Reports being accountable and transparent in a succinct and independent way. All State agencies are eligible and are automatically considered as part of the judging process. 2021 marks the 36th Anniversary of this long-standing and prestigious event.

Support your organisation as it vies for the prestigious W.S. Lonnie Memorial Trophy. Winners will be announced on the day.

View past winners here.


Bronze Awards demonstrate high levels of accountability and good reporting to Parliament, the community and key stakeholder groups.

Silver Awards exceed the criteria and are considered to demonstrate particularly good reporting and accountability.

Gold Awards excel in accountability and annual reporting. Annual reports that receive this award have exceeded the requirements and are considered model reports.

Major Awards

Margaret McAleer Special Commendation: The award is presented at the discretion of the panel for an outstanding report that, in some respect, establishes a benchmark to which others should aspire.

The Allan Skinner Trophy: Awarded to the best annual report in the General Government Sector.

The Margaret Nadebaum Trophy: Awarded to the best annual report in the Government Enterprise Sector.

The WS Lonnie Memorial Trophy: Awarded to the best annual report for the year.

There are seven additional Specialist Awards for 2021 that will be presented on the day.

Thank you to the Sponsors of the Specialist Awards.


Specialist Awards

Office of the Auditor General Award for Transparency and Accountability
WorkCover WADepartment of Mines, Industry Regulation and SafetyInsurance Commission of Western Australia

WorkCover WA, Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety, and Insurance Commission of Western Australia Award for Occupational Safety Health and Injury Management

State Records Commission Award for Excellence in Compliance Reporting
Ombudsman Western Australia Award for Complaints Handling

CPA Australia Award for Performance Reporting

Public Sector Commission Award for Good Governance

Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand Award for Chief Financial Officer of the Year