skip to Main Content

His Excellency the Honourable Chris Dawson APM

Governor of Western Australia

IPAA WA’s Patron is His Excellency the Honourable Christopher John Dawson APM, Governor of Western Australia.

His Excellency the Honourable Chris Dawson APM was sworn in as the 34th Governor of Western Australia on 15 July 2022.

The Dawson family have been part of the early colonial settlers over five generations of farming and law enforcement. The Governor’s great-great-grandparents arrived in the then Swan River colony in Western Australia in 1830.

Christopher John Dawson APM was educated at Perth Modern School before joining the Western Australia Police Force in 1976, going on to provide 46 years of service in Australian law enforcement.

He served in country and metropolitan positions, criminal investigation, training and senior roles. The Queen’s Birthday Honours List in 2002 saw him awarded the Australian Police Medal for distinguished service.

After 10 years as Deputy Commissioner, he left WA for a national role in Canberra between 2014 to 2017 as Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Crime Commission, amalgamating several agencies into the Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission. He also served as Director of the Australian Institute of Criminology during this period.

He was appointed Commissioner of the Western Australia Police Force in August 2017, serving until July 2022. During the period of the COVID-19 global pandemic, Commissioner Dawson coordinated the State of Emergency and the Vaccine program.

He is married to Darrilyn Dawson, Education Consultant, with two married children and five grandchildren.

Vice Patron

  • Hon. Roger Hugh Cook MLAPremier of Western Australia
  • Mr Shane Love MLA, Leader of the Opposition

History of IPAA WA Patron’s

Traditionally, the Patron of IPAA WA is the Governor of Western Australia.

2018 – 2022 The Honourable Kim Beazley AC

2014 – 2018 Her Excellency the Honourable Kerry Sanderson AC

2011 – 2014 His Excellency Malcolm McCusker AC CVO QC

2006 – 2011 His Excellency Dr Ken Michael AC

2000 – 2005 His Excellency Lieutenant General John Sanderson AC

1993 – 2000 Major General the Honourable Michael Jeffery AC AO (Mil) CVO MC (Retd)

Premier Corporate Partners

Back To Top